My Summer Internship!

        What is an internship? According to Dictionary.com the definition of an internship is “any period of time during which a beginner acquires experience in an occupation, profession, or pursuit: She had a long internship before starting her own recording studio.” Under this definition I find almost no similarities to my internship with Bringing Science Home and Student With Diabetes. I find so much more!!

      Let me tell you a little about myself and then more about my story involving Students With Diabetes. I am a 19 year old junior in college at Boise State University in Idaho. I am studying to become a physician assistant and will probably go to a graduate degree program somewhere in Utah or Colorado. I was diagnosed with diabetes at the age of 8 months young. With getting this rough disease at such a young age I have never known anything different. Diabetes has shaped a lot of who I am and where I want to go in life. It is one of the reasons I want to be a PA.

     I have been involved with many different diabetes organizations throughout my life starting of course with JDRF others also include DTreat, Iron Andy Foundation, and Team Novo. But my heart and soul goes into Idaho Diabetes Youth Programs and Camp Hodia. This will be my fifth summer on staff as a counselor at their 3 summer camps. This year am also delighted to say I am the new craft director (which actually is a lot more work than it would seem). During the none camping season I volunteer by educating families, writing grants, and marketing IDYP. This is how I found Students with Diabetes and met Nicole Johnson.   

      One of my talents some might say is marketing. I have been a marketing intern and also was the main Internet marketing planner for a major cooperation, TapouT XT.  This has now lead me to have a very successful online marketing business which involves Facebook, SEO, Blogs and anything else you can think of would be on the internet. This is part two on how I go to be an intern for Students With Diabetes.

     Students with Diabetes runs this amazing internship program and right when I saw the application I knew I wanted to apply!! I have always wanted to know more about how to work in the diabetes field without a medical license and this seemed like the right option! And boy have I been surprised and educated every step of the way!! I applied for anything in the marketing area because that was a skill I knew I already had and was too nervous to branch out farther. I was then interviewed multiple times and offered to be Nicole’s personal intern to help her with marketing and promotion of Students with Diabetes and the national conference. I started in Late April and have loved every project they have thrown at me from Facebook to marketing plans. Their leadership conference was by far one of the most educational things I have ever attended! It really showed me all the options there are to be in the diabetes world! I also have made incredible friends and connects that I know I will be able to use the rest of my life!

So this internship has not only brought me what dictionary.com says “a beginner should acquire experience in an occupation, profession, or pursuit” but also relationships that will last forever, connections diabetes world, and a greater knowledge on who people handle their diabetes to a better pursuit!

      I am so lucky to have been given this internship! It has thought me more than another internship in the world could have. I am counting down the days till the next Students With Diabetes National Conference! 

Leave a Reply

